top of page


Our History

Alpha Theta Beta Sorority was founded on November 17,1936, thus making it the oldest fraternal organization on Hofstra's campus. Teddy Langlotz, then the editor of The Chronicle, wielded the power of the press and persuaded the administration to finally accept our constitution in January 1938. The other three founders were Frances Barnes, Eugenia Crawford, and Kay G. Noll. Through the initiative of our charter members, the necessity for inter-fraternal government was recognized, and consequently the Inter-Sorority Council came into existence.


Our Motto

Sisterhood, Sincerity, Cooperation

Our Colors

Forest Green, Silver, White

Our Flower

White Rose

Our Gem

White Pearl

Our Mascots

Kermit the Frog, White Swan

bottom of page